27 Sep. 22
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Godfrey, IL
The state of Illinois has a requirement that is mandatory for all registered vehicles to carry liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Also drivers in the Godfrey, IL area must carry uninsured motorist’s coverage with the same minimum limits.
If you fail to carry the proper insurance, this is considered to be a petty offense that is punishable by a fine. However, if you are caught driving while uninsured, you can face up to a $1,000 fine and you could have your driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended. This suspension can last up to three months until a $100 reinstatement fee and proof of insurance are submitted. If you repeat this offense, your penalty will increase.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Illinois state laws require that everyone carry an insurance ID card while driving in their vehicle. If you are driving uninsured, you can have several penalties that vary on the circumstance and can be enforced in two different ways. These ways include the verification of proof of insurance during a traffic stop or through a random sampling process where the state sends a form to a randomly chosen driver asking to verify their insurance company and policy number. Some of the different penalties for driving uninsured include:
- Fines: For a first & second offense there is a $501-$1,000 with the possibility of an additional $1,000 for driving with suspended license plates due to an insurance violation. For subsequent offenses, $1,000 is the general feel with an additional $1,000 for driving with suspended plates, and an additional $2,500 fine will be placed upon you if you have been convicted twice and are involved in an accident.
- Driving Privilege: During the first & second offenses, your driver’s license and registration are suspended for up to three months. For any subsequent charge, your registration and license are suspended for four months.
- Other: For first & second offenses, a $100 reinstatement fee Is charged. For any subsequent charges, it is a $100 reinstatement fee, and are required to provide proof of financial responsibility (SR22 certificate) for three years.
If you are caught driving while uninsured, the incurred fines can be reduced if you were not convicted previously for violating this law and can provide proof of appropriate insurance coverage as of the date of your court appearance. Proof of these points can result in paying a $100 fine and a disposition of court supervision.
If you are dealing with a case of driving while uninsured in Godfrey, IL, give our team at Diaz Law a call today! We will make sure that your case is properly handled.